Leicestershire and Rutland Secondary Schools Cross Country

The secondary schools cross country league consists of eague races held between September and January, along with a separate schools’ county championships. 


Leicestershire secondary schools cross country


Athletes compete in four age groups: year sevens, juniors (school years 8 & 9), intermediates (school years 10 & 11) and seniors (school years 12 & 13). Athletes in all age groups compete for both individual and school team titles.
In the individual competition the best four results from the league races count towards the championships.
In the team competition the number of athletes required to make a team varies depending on age group (year 7 and junior girls – 4 athletes, year 7 and junior boys – 6 athletes, intermediate and senior girls and boys – 3 athletes).
The cumulative score of all of the athletes in the team make up the team score for each race, with the best four races counting as in the individual competition.

Athletes and schools do not need to pre-register for any races, but are asked to complete a results slip and return it to the team manager’s room at the end of each race.

Races at secondary level are not run with hares, but course maps are available on the morning of the event and the courses will be open for athletes to walk around so that they are familiar with the route. The first race starts at 10.30am with the year seven age group. Each race then follows at approximately 10-15 minute intervals (race times confirmed by individual schools on the day).


In the junior, intermediate, and senior age groups there are eight selection places available for the Leicestershire & Rutland team to compete in the English Schools championships in March each year. The top three athletes from the league championships will automatically be selected. The top three athletes in the Schools’ County Championships will also be selected. The remaining places will be decided upon by performances across the season: in the league, county championships, and inter-county races (if held).